The Cave Marc-André Rossier was built in 1980 on the same site it occupies today.
Louis had always loved wine and winemaking. For 16 years, he made wine for his own enjoyment and sold his grape harvest to the local merchants. He even went to France to source his Chardonnay plants.
The children of a farmer and winemaker, Louis and Anna came together in 1962 to take on the running of their parents’ land and develop its winemaking sector. François, Anna’s father, had delivered his harvest to businesses in Leytron, while Louis’s father, Joseph, was a founding member of Provins.
In 1980 they decided to market their produce, and, as their business expanded, they gradually built the cellar that stands on the estate today.
Today the wines are sold to private customers and smaller restaurants looking for typical Valais wines. The customer base is located mainly in Western Switzerland, as well as in the regions of Solothurn and Basel.
The vines grow in Saillon and Leytron, though the Hermitage variety grows in Sierre.
The work is done as a family with son Marc-André and daughters Marie-Hélène and Aline.
Before returning to work on the estate, Marc-André studied at the École de commerce de Martigny, the École d’agriculture de Châteauneuf (for basic training in winemaking), and the Haute école de viticulture et d’Oenologie de Changins, as well as completing an apprenticeship as a wine merchant and an internship in an agricultural equipment garage in German-speaking Switzerland (Grunderco Aesch in Lucerne).
In 1989, Marc-André married Philomène Caloz from Fang/Chandolin in Val d’Anniviers.
Philomène completed an apprenticeship as a commercial employee at a trust company.
They are assisted by their four children, Emilie, Caroline, François and Romain, which means there are three generations working to bring you the best possible product.
In 2006, Marc-André and Philomène took over the running of the vineyard.
In autumn 2008, their daughter Caroline began studying to be a wine merchant and wine grower at the École d’agriculture de Châteuneuf. In 2009, she completed internships at the federal agricultural research site in Leytron and the experimental vineyard at the Changins wine school. In 2010 she completed an internship with Louis Hubert at the estate of the City of Bern in La Neuveville.
The next generation is already showing great promise, and its abilities in the areas of tasting and vineyard work bode well for the future of the cellar.
In 2009 we were proud to produce new wines from our harvest which included the Païen, Merlot, Cabernet and Cornalin varieties.
2010 saw the expansion of the cellar and the consolidation of winegrowing and winemaking activities on the Leytron site. A new building was constructed to store the winemaking machinery and to house a small mechanical workshop.
Caroline continued her training in 2010, completing an internship at the estate of the Canton of Valais and receiving her Federal VET Diploma. In 2011, she continued her studies at the Haute école de Changins, receiving her diplomas in winemaking and oenology in 2015, as well as the two federal diplomas in winemaking and oenology.
In 2013, Caroline took charge of Florésie (www.floresie.ch), which is sure to charm your taste buds.
Caroline also brought new ideas back from her various internships, encouraging the family to plant the Divico grape variety in 2015 and, on a trial basis in 2016, a white grape variety which is set to receive its name in 2018. These two disease-resistant seedlings require very little in the way of phytosanitary treatment.
In 2015, the harvest was modernised with the arrival of new and more efficient equipment that improved the quality and speed of the harvest process.
2017 saw the arrival of a new press and the creation of a new reception area for guests. It was a bad year for the harvest, though, with 55% being destroyed by the brutal frost that struck the entire canton of Valais. 2017 was also marked by the passing of our founder, Louis, just before the harvest. Louis has moved on to work in the vineyard of our Lord, and we thank him for everything he has given and taught us, and for the wonderful example he set.

Open cellars doors

Take part at the event.
Information from the producer.
Route du Stade 70
1912 Leytron

Pratical information

Monday to Friday
French / German / English
50
Cellar tour / Vineyard tour
Yes
Yes
Riddes
Ancienne Poste Leytron
10
Walk in the wineyard - Bourg de Saillon-Vigne à Farinet-Passerelle with raclette et grills

Awarded wines |

  • Medal
    Dénomination du vin
    Year
    Wine variety
    Competition
  • Cornalin

    2017

    Cornalin

    2018

  • Humagne Rouge

    2017

    Humagne Rouge

    2018

Check the Selection des Vins du Valais contest

Die Kellerei Marc-André Rossier wurde 1980 an ihrem jetzigen Standort errichtet.
Louis hatte schon immer ein Faible für Wein und Weinherstellung. 16 Jahre lang produzierte er zu seinem eigenen Vergnügen und verkaufte seine Traubenernte an Händler in der Region. Er holte sich sogar Chardonnay-Setzlinge aus Frankreich.
Die beiden Bauern- und Winzerkinder Louis und Anna fanden 1962 zusammen und entwickelten auf den Ländereien ihrer Eltern den Weinbau. Annas Vater François lieferte die Ernte in die Geschäfte von Leytron und Louis’ Vater Joseph war Gründungsmitglied von Provins.
1980 beschlossen sie, ihre gesamte Produktion in den Handel zu bringen, und bauten mit zunehmendem Erfolg nach und nach die jetzige Kellerei auf.
Heute werden die Weine an Privatleute und kleine Restaurantbetreiber verkauft, die nach typischen Weinen suchen. Die Kundschaft kommt hauptsächlich aus der Westschweiz und aus den Gegenden um Solothurn und Basel.
Die Reben wachsen auf Parzellen bei Saillon und Leytron, die Sorte Ermitage bei Siders.
Im Familienbetrieb arbeiten der Sohn Marc-André und die beiden Töchter Marie-Hélène und Aline mit.
Marc-André absolvierte zuvor Ausbildungen an der Handelsschule Martigny, der Landwirtschaftsschule Châteauneuf (Winzer-Grundausbildung) und der Fachhochschule für Weinbau und Önologie in Changins sowie eine Lehre als Kellermeister und ein Praktikum in einer Landmaschinengarage im Kanton Luzern (Grunderco in Aesch).
1989 heiratet er Philomène Caloz aus Fang/Chandolin im Val d’Anniviers.
Philomène hat in einer Treuhandgesellschaft eine kaufmännische Lehre absolviert.
Ihre vier Kinder Emilie, Caroline, François und Romain gehen ihnen zur Hand. Insgesamt drei Generationen bemühen sich somit um Ihre Zufriedenheit.
2006 übernehmen Marc-André und Philomène den Betrieb.
Im Herbst 2008 beginnt Caroline ihre Ausbildung zur Winzerin und Weinhändlerin an der Landwirtschaftsschule Châteauneuf. 2009 macht sie Praktika im Agroscope-Versuchsbetrieb Leytron sowie in der Forschungsanstalt in Changins und 2010 ein Praktikum bei Louis Hubert auf dem Weingut der Stadt Bern in La Neuveville.
Der Nachwuchs steht schon in den Startlöchern und seine Fähigkeiten im Weinbau und in der Degustation versprechen eine grosse Zukunft für die Kellerei.
Bei der Lese im Jahr 2009 werden stolz die neuen Weine aus Heida, Merlot, Cabernet und Cornalin vorgestellt.
Das Jahr 2010 bringt eine Vergrösserung der Kellerei und die Wiederzusammenführung von Anbau und Verarbeitung am Standort Leytron. Zur Unterbringung der Maschinen wurde eine Halle errichtet, die auch eine kleine Werkstatt beherbergt.
Caroline setzt 2010 ihre Ausbildung mit einem Praktikum auf dem Weingut des Kantons Wallis fort und erhält ihr EFZ. 2011 studiert sie weiter an der Fachhochschule in Changins und erhält dort 2015 den Bachelor-Titel in Weinbau und Önologie sowie die zwei Eidgenössischen Fachausweise in Weinbau und Önologie.
2013 übernimmt Caroline das Sortiment La Florésie (www.floresie.ch), das Ihren Gaumen entzücken wird.
Von ihren Praktika bringt sie neue Ideen mit, welche die Familie veranlassen, 2015 die Sorte Divico und 2016 versuchsweise eine neue Weissweinsorte anzupflanzen, die 2018 einen Namen erhalten wird. Diese beiden Züchtungen sind gegen Krankheiten resistent und erfordern kaum Pflanzenschutzbehandlung.
2015 wird die Traubenannahme mit neuen, leistungsstärkeren Geräten ausgestattet, um die Qualität und die Schnelligkeit der Verarbeitung nach der Lese zu erhöhen.
2017 kommt eine neue Presse und ein neuer Empfangsraum für die Kunden hinzu. Aber 2017 war auch ein schwarzes Jahr: 55 Prozent der Ernte fielen dem heftigen Frost zum Opfer, der das ganze Wallis traf. Im selben Jahr starb auch der Gründer Louis kurz vor Beginn der Weinlese. Er bestellt nun die Weinberge des Herrn und wir sind ihm dankbar für sein wunderbares Vorbild und alles, was er uns geschenkt und beigebracht hat.

Praktische Infos

Montag bis Freitag

Jeden Tag auf Anfrage
Französisch / Deutsch / Englisch
50
Kellerbesuch / Weinbergführung
Ja
Ja
Riddes
Ancienne Poste Leytron
Wanderung in den Rebbergen - Bourg de Saillon-Vigne bis Farinet-Passerelle, Raclette und Grillieren auf dem Weg

Prämierte Weine |

  • Medaille
    Weinbezeichnung
    Jahrgang
    Rebsorte
    Wettbewerb
  • Cornalin

    2017

    Cornalin

    2018

  • Humagne Rouge

    2017

    Humagne Rouge

    2018